Vermilion Photographer | Year in Review Contest

The end of every year finds me reflecting back on the course of all that happened.  Dragon Hare has had a pretty amazing year – I earned my master’s degree, attended a master class for the first time with photographers I truly admire, set a goal to step outside the box, and brought home the top portrait photography prize in Alberta.  I sat down and pulled out ten images that really resonated with me – mostly because they represent some improvement in technical skill in them but some because of something that happened in my life because of the image.

Since I had my top ten pulled out, I’ve decided to hold an end of the year photography competition.  Listed below are ten images with the clients name.  The client with the most votes will receive a free 18×18 canvas of this image.  The contest will open on Christmas Day and close on New Year’s day.  In that time only, clients can share this blog post and find votes.

There are only two ways you can vote – the first is by commenting on this blog post below.  To count, you must state who you think should win, AND why you like the image.  You can also earn an extra entry for your portrait by visiting our facebook page and “liking” our page.  Then come back to this site and post “I liked your facebook page and got an extra vote for <insert client’s name here>.  These are the only two ways your vote will register in this contest.  Please note, all comments must happen on this blog post or they do not count.

Are you ready?  The Dragon Hare top ten for 2014 are:

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Sharla Bauer

vermilion-baby-photographer-dhs-339

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Arleigh Stone

vermilion-family-photograph-dhs-345

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Jesse and Holly Elgie (and Mr. Sheep)

vermilion-family-photograph-dhs-346

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Karl and Natalie Jory

vermilion-family-photograph-dhs-347

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Erica Klassen

vermilion-family-photograph-dhs-349

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Fine Art Created with an iPhone 5Svermilion-family-photograph-dhs-350

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Kari Anne Cannan

vermilion-family-photograph-dhs-351

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

 

Colton Whitingwainwrightfamilyphotographer_dhs_898

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

 

Martha Spinksvermilion-family-photograph-dhs-344

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

 

Andrea Buryvermilion-family-photograph-dhs-348

 

Best of luck to all our clients who were selected for this contest!  In the event that the landscape is selected, we will draw one name from all entries to receive the canvas of that image.

December 27, 2014 - 1:59 am

Terri Ferguson - Carl & Natalie Jory. That pic is amazing!!!

December 27, 2014 - 2:08 am

Erin Chmielewski Tremblay - Martha Spinks

December 27, 2014 - 2:57 am

kelly klassen - Erica klassen of course.

December 27, 2014 - 3:28 am

Heather Scoggins Newton - Sharla Bauer

December 27, 2014 - 4:20 am

Sharla Bauer - My baby girl of coarse!!

December 27, 2014 - 4:49 am

Bobbi-Jo Sweeney - Sharla Bauer’s Little one

December 27, 2014 - 5:33 am

Kathy Bowtell - Arleigh Stone

December 27, 2014 - 6:06 am

Dayna Lee Tilden - Karl and natalie jory

December 27, 2014 - 7:14 am

Lottie Gilpin Bardoel - Arleigh Stone’s portrait. I am moved every time I see it. You’ve captured Arleigh’s character so perfectly. I love the use of black and white; it creates a sense of timelessness. They are all amazing – hard to choose.

December 27, 2014 - 7:30 am

Linda Farkash - Our granddaughter Hudson Quinn

December 27, 2014 - 3:33 pm

Hick AndHer Chicks - Don’t forget to say why you like that portrait or the votes don’t count

December 27, 2014 - 3:38 pm

Kimberly Ross Morritt - Make sure you comment as to why you love the portrait or the votes don’t count.

December 27, 2014 - 4:10 pm

Norma Ross - The Jory’s cause I love the northern lights.

December 27, 2014 - 4:18 pm

Sherri Peters-Davidson - Raleigh Stone. I love the story it tells. Beautiful.

December 27, 2014 - 4:51 pm

Susan Albo Szigety - The wedding photo… OMG can you capture amazing aspects of nature in a photo!

December 27, 2014 - 5:01 pm

Tara Ungeran Bader - Martha Spinks – captures 3 generations doing what they love. Amazing photo.

December 27, 2014 - 7:44 pm

Amy Roberta Shomachuk - Kari Cannan because the picture shows exactly the kind of person she is

December 27, 2014 - 8:48 pm

Crystal Lynn Isley - Kari Anne Cannan because even after all she went through she’s still the positive and beautiful person on the inside and out and this picture portrays that perfectly :)

December 27, 2014 - 10:53 pm

Diane Schmidt - Hudson Quinn Bauer gets my vote :)

December 28, 2014 - 1:51 am

Shannon Mastromatteo - I vote Kari Anne Cannan. I shows where her beauty comes from.

December 28, 2014 - 1:59 am

Tina Bourgeault - I vote for Kari cannan. It shows the cancer didn’t change her only made her stronger.

December 28, 2014 - 4:21 am

Shantell Bielesch - I vote for Kari! Her strength and grace these past months are so inspiring

December 28, 2014 - 5:39 am

Shannon Marie Arnold - Kari, throughout everything she always kept a smile on her face and saw the positive.

December 28, 2014 - 5:51 am

Janelle Dickie - Kari cannon, she is always inspirational throughout everything that has gone on in her life.

December 28, 2014 - 5:54 am

Aline Pomerleau Hanna - I vote for Kari !!! For strength her perserverance and her beautiful smile;)

December 28, 2014 - 2:38 pm

Theresa Hiebert Veitch - Wow… Every picture is beautiful!!!! It is hard to choose but baby picture is definitely my favorite … Why …. Because it is a natural shot with no special effects – and she looks adorable of course.

December 28, 2014 - 4:20 pm

Taryn Usenik - I vote for Kari! The picture truly shows how strong and brave she was through everything. She can find the humor in anything.

December 28, 2014 - 4:22 pm

Taryn Usenik - I liked your page so I think I earned an extra vote for Kari! Maybe?

December 28, 2014 - 9:27 pm

Tycen Isley - Kari Anne Cannan because we had the same haircut a few months ago 😛

December 28, 2014 - 9:50 pm

Claire Ferguson - Karl and Natalie Jory hands down. The sweep of colours are amazing.

December 28, 2014 - 10:04 pm

Claire Ferguson - I liked your facebook page and got an extra vote for Karl and Natalie Jory Markiss

December 28, 2014 - 10:11 pm

Amy Vredevoogd-Van Sickle - I like the couple with the sheep. The sheep looks like a little kid seeing his parents kiss. Love it!

December 28, 2014 - 10:57 pm

Lori Drake - Karl and Natalie Jory by far. Stunning photo.

December 28, 2014 - 10:58 pm

Lori Drake - I liked your Facebook page for an extra vote for Karl and Natalie. Amazing photo.

December 29, 2014 - 4:46 am

Darina Jurasek - Sharla Bauers baby photo.
Really captures the beauty and innocence of a baby. Gorgeous photo!

December 29, 2014 - 5:11 am

Janice Ellen Emsland - Hudson is Sooooo cute and cuddly she Absolutely needs to win!!! I’m her Aunty and love her to pieces!!!!

December 29, 2014 - 1:50 pm

Lise Marie Frenette - karl and Natalie jory… the colours and the mood captured are wonderful!

December 29, 2014 - 1:54 pm

Lise Marie Frenette - I liked your facebook page to earn an extra vote for Karl and Natalie Jory! 😉

December 29, 2014 - 1:57 pm

Linda Farkash - Cause she’s the cutest most beautiful little girl you’ll ever hold!

December 29, 2014 - 6:55 pm

Alice Swan - Arleigh Stone. This photo mesmerized me. I had to stop and appreciate it every time I was in the Mall. Beautiful.

December 29, 2014 - 7:23 pm

Tracy-Lee Gore-Langton - I vote for Karl & Natalie Jory- this picture is breathtaking with the green & blue, just lovely!

December 29, 2014 - 7:53 pm

Chantal Heron - I vote for Karl & Natalie jory its stunning… I love it!!

December 29, 2014 - 10:52 pm

Amelia Sproule - I vote Karl Jory and Natalie Laroche!
I liked your facebook page, so that should get me an extra vote!
I absolutely love the sky, shooting star, classy truck and couple 😉

December 30, 2014 - 12:27 am

Dawson Ferguson - Karl and Natalie Jory. Beautiful truck with a beautiful sky and beautiful couple.

December 30, 2014 - 12:32 am

Dawson Ferguson - I liked your facebook page and got an extra vote for Karl and Natalie Jory.

December 30, 2014 - 12:58 am

Trina Kiziak - Beautiful pictures my vote is for baby Hudson, she is so adorable!

December 30, 2014 - 12:59 am

Doreen Rochford - Such a little angle

December 30, 2014 - 1:58 am

Jason Chupick - Karl & natalie Jory – wicked sick!!

December 30, 2014 - 2:15 am

Breanne Nick Quist - The picture of Karl and Natalie Jory is absolutely stunning! They have my vote :)

December 30, 2014 - 1:24 pm

Brent Fair - Karl and Natalie Jory, love the northern lights!!

December 30, 2014 - 5:26 pm

Amanda Cusack - My vote for Colton Whiting. It’s a great shot, beautiful view and a massive Alberta sky. I wish I could vote for more than one

December 30, 2014 - 6:47 pm

Yolande Lariviere - Yolande Lariviere Welland Ontario
Karl and Natalie wedding picture it portrays a magical moment!!

December 30, 2014 - 10:08 pm

Shelley Wilber - I vote Colton Whiting. This picture captures a perfect moment in time in who this person is “right now”. Great colors, great movement in the whole piece.

December 30, 2014 - 10:31 pm

Mike Schalin - Wow Kim, those are some amazing photos, really tough to choose, but I think the one of Arleigh Stone is my favorite. I love that it’s a black and white yet it has as much if not more power and vibrancy then most people’s color photos.

December 30, 2014 - 10:54 pm

Toni Teasdale - My vote is for Karl and Natalie, such a beautiful and original photo!

December 30, 2014 - 10:56 pm

Jeri Hartwell Dolen - Sharla!!

December 30, 2014 - 11:07 pm

Dottie Hartwell - Baby!

December 30, 2014 - 11:24 pm

Crystal Swanson - All photos are stunning, but the story behind kari Ann is truly astounding

December 30, 2014 - 11:54 pm

Kim Bodurka - Karl & Natalie Jory is my favorite photo, amazing

December 31, 2014 - 1:41 am

Doreen Rochford - I vote for baby Hudson. Little angle. Good luck

December 31, 2014 - 4:42 am

Sharla Bauer - I liked your page so I vote for Sharla bauer.

December 31, 2014 - 4:47 pm

Shaun Swire - Amazing picture of Karl & Natalie Jory!

December 31, 2014 - 5:23 pm

Lynda Allison Haverslew - Voting for Baby Hudson! So adorable!

December 31, 2014 - 8:08 pm

Tamara Radford- Martin - Got to Love the BIG Brown eyes. Sharla Bauer

December 31, 2014 - 10:18 pm

Julie Lafontaine - Karl and Natalie Jory. I LOVE stars. I have never seen such a beautiful wedding photo. Great work!!!

December 31, 2014 - 10:20 pm

Julie Lafontaine - I liked your facebook page and got an extra vote for Karl and Natalie Jory.

December 31, 2014 - 10:21 pm

Julie Lafontaine - My other post disappeared, odd…Here it is again: Karl and Natalie Jory because I LOVE stars!! I haven’t seen a wedding photo so beautiful. amazing work!!

January 1, 2015 - 6:42 pm

jeri - Sharla’s baby is a dolly! So sweet & innocent.

January 2, 2015 - 1:44 am

Lori Houghton - karl and natalie

January 12, 2015 - 10:31 am

Jenny Gionet Klassen - My daughter in her grad dress of course…Erica klassen I loved the background and color in this photo.

January 12, 2015 - 10:38 am

Pat Gionet - The pic of Erica is beautiful and stunning That girl could be a model she is gorgeous

January 12, 2015 - 5:50 pm

Robert Dando - As a professional photographer for over 34 years all I can say is NICE WORK…you should be proud..as to the best..Karl & Nathalie…wonderfull wedding shot

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*